OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management

  • Home
  • OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management


The OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management is a qualification for aspiring health and safety professionals. It is aimed at learners who are responsible for developing and applying health and safety procedures on a day-to-day basis in an organization. They are likely to be managers looking to improve their knowledge and skills.

The objective of the OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management qualification is to develop occupational health and safety management skills for managers who have the authority and personal attributes to translate organizational strategy into effective operational performance.

This qualification reflects current practice in Occupational Health and Safety Management and allows learners to develop and expand their high-level understanding of occupational health and safety in the workplace.

Individuals successfully completing the diploma qualification will be eligible to apply for the Certified level of membership CertIOSH.

Entry requirements

For entry onto the OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management qualification, learners will be expected to possess:

  • A minimum of a Level 6 qualification such as the OTHM Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety or equivalent Level 6 qualification; or
  • An honours degree (2.2) with relevant knowledge and experience in the occupational health and safety sector
  • Learners must be 21 years or older at the beginning of the course.

Applicants with substantial relevant professional experience will also be considered on a case-by-case basis.

English requirements: If a learner is not from a majority English-speaking country must provide evidence of English language competency. For more information visit English Language Expectations page on our website


The OTHM Level 7 diplomas on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) are at the same level as master’s degrees. However, they are shorter (120 credits) and learners will have to proceed to the dissertation stage (60 credits) with a university partner to achieve a full masters programme.

Qualification structure

The OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management consists of 6 mandatory units for a combined total of 120 credits, 1200 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT) and 600 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

Mandatory units
  • Health and Safety Management Practice (20 credits)
  • Effectiveness of Health and Safety Management Systems (20 credits)
  • Factors Affecting Risk and Strategic Risk Intervention (20 credits)
  • Strategic Commitment to Health and Well-Being (20 credits)
  • Sustainability and Ethics in Health and Safety Practice (20 credits)
  • Advanced Research Methods (20 credits)

Duration and delivery

OTHM do not specify the mode of delivery for its qualifications, therefore OTHM Centres are free to deliver this qualification using any mode of delivery that meets the needs of their learners. However, OTHM Centres should consider the learners’ complete learning experience when designing the delivery of programmes.

OTHM Centres must ensure that the chosen mode of delivery does not unlawfully or unfairly discriminate, whether directly or indirectly, and that equality of opportunity is promoted. Where it is reasonable and practicable to do so, it will take steps to address identified inequalities or barriers that may arise.

Guided Learning Hours (GLH) which are listed in each unit gives centres the number of hours of teacher-supervised or direct study time likely to be required to teach that unit.

Assessment and verification

All units within this qualification are internally assessed by the centre and externally verified by OTHM. The qualifications are criterion referenced, based on the achievement of all the specified learning outcomes.

To achieve a ‘pass’ for a unit, learners must provide evidence to demonstrate that they have fulfilled all the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by all assessment criteria.

Judgement that the learners have successfully fulfilled the assessment criteria is made by the assessor.

The assessor should provide an audit trail showing how the judgement of the learners’ overall achievement has been arrived at.

Specific assessment guidance and relevant marking criteria for each unit are made available in the Assignment Brief document. These are made available to centres immediately after registration of one or more learners.


The OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management qualification enables learners to progress into or within employment and/or continue their further study.

As this qualification is approved and regulated by Ofqual (Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulation), where appropriate learners are eligible to progress to Master’s top-up at many universities in the UK and overseas with advanced standing. For more information visit the University Progressions page in this website.

Links to Other OTHM Occupational Health and Safety Programmes

OTHM Level 3 Technical Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety

Occupational Health and Safety – Level 6 Qualifications – IOSH Accredited

Individuals who achieve the qualification will be eligible to apply for Certified level of membership  Grad IOSH. Those eligible for Certified membership can then undertake a period of Initial Professional Development which will require students to provide evidence of their practice skills in a skills development portfolio (IPD). At the end of this period there will be a professional review interview. After successful completion of this IPD process students will then be eligible for Chartered membership of IOSH (CMIOSH).